Snapchat is not only suitable for sending pictures (the so-called snaps), but also for chatting with friends. Either in individual chats or in a group chat. If you accidentally sent a message as part of this, you can remove it later . We show you how you can easily delete messages on Snapchat !
how to delete snapchat messages
You can not only delete messages later on WhatsApp , but also on Snapchat. All you have to do is hold down the message you accidentally sent and want to retrieve in the corresponding chat. Then a new window opens in which you select “Delete” .
Then you have to confirm again that the chat should really disappear. To do this, tap “Delete” again . Note that your chat partner or all members of the group chat will then receive a message that you have just deleted a chat. Snapchat also informs you that deleting messages afterwards sometimes does not work. This is because, for example, your internet connection is too bad or your friends have not installed the current version of Snapchat . In addition, your messages can still be saved by others using a screenshot if you were not quick enough to delete them.
By the way, snaps can not be retrieved in this way , but only text messages, stickers, audios, voice memos and photos / videos from memories. In short: Everything that is sent via the chat area and not via the camera can be called back.
Snapchat is known to make published content such as news or stories only temporarily accessible and to delete them automatically after a while. Now you can delete direct messages even before someone has seen them. This should come in handy if, for example, you sent the wrong picture to the wrong recipient. WhatsApp has been offering a similar feature for some time .
Deleting a Snapchat message that has not been read by the recipient is very simple. You first press and hold the relevant message in the chat history. A pop-up menu will then open, in which you will find the “Delete” option. This allows you to make text, images, sound recordings and other items you have sent disappear from the chat history. However, your counterpart will still receive a notification that you have sent him something.
Read Snapchat messages automatically disappear
By default, Snapchat deletes instant messages after the recipient has viewed them and he and the author have left the chat screen. After 30 days, previously unread messages also automatically disappear from individual chats. In group conversations, this is already the case after 24 hours. You can also save messages in the chat by holding them down as described at the beginning and then selecting “Save in chat”.
Snap is also new in other ways. The company now sells the second generation of its Spectacles through Amazon. So far, the camera sunglasses were only available directly from the official website. Marco summarized what the Snapchat glasses can do for you shortly after their publication. Among other things, unlike the previous model, it is able to take photos and withstand water.